top of page

Add a Ribbon Bookmark

I love ribbon bookmarks. I add them to all my bibles. With the start of the new year 2016, I began using a notebook to start my day. I sit down with my morning coffee, and I write in my notebook. Just a few lines... who I'm praying for, what I need to focus on for the day, what my workout should be (I don't always get that one done)... etc. After a few weeks, I wanted a ribbon bookmark for this big notebook, too. It's a cute-as-pie composition book that my BFF gave me. She's always bringing me cute things because she is a sale-shopper-par-excellence. This was the first time I added a ribbon bookmark to a composition book. All you do is glue a ribbon into the spine of the book, or in this case, to the back page. I sandwiched it between the back cover and the last page, gluing each side of the ribbon. Aleene's Tacky Glue is very flexible when dry, so it's the perfect choice for this. Open the book wide, creating a big gap in the spine. Squirt some Tacky Glue down into the spine, and insert the ribbon, an inch or so into the spine. Close the book and allow to dry for a few hours. Then, fold the end of the ribbon in half, and snip, creating an upside-down V, If you dap Fray-Check on the end, it will never fray and stay very neat. :) It takes about 2 minutes to add a ribbon bookmark, and you'll love it.

Now, to get really nitpicky, my chronological bible came with a glossy paperback cover. There IS no spine in a paperback, so I glued the ribbon to the spine of the book. The glossy cover caused it not to adhere, and the dried glue & ribbon just peeled right off. Well, I REALLY wanted a ribbon bookmark for this daily reader, so I actually traced around the ribbon on the spine with a pen, and cut that shape with an exacto knife, peeling off the top layer of the glossy cover. That left a strip of raw paper, which took the glue perfectly, and they ribbon has stayed put nicely for several years. So if you want to start a daily notebook to help you stay on track, look for a beautiful blank book (Michael's always has them for a dollar or two) and pick up a cute matching ribbon while you're there. HomeGoods also has beautiful blank books sometimes. Dollar stores usually have them. These blank books are usually hardcover, and you can add that ribbon into the spine.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page